# GLOBAL APPEAL 2014

To end stigma and discrimination against people affected by leprosy

**Endorsed by National Human Rights Institutions** 

To end stigma and discrimination against people affected by leprosy

**Endorsed by National Human Rights Institutions** 

Leprosy is one of the world's oldest diseases. Caused by a bacillus, it is completely curable today with modern drug therapy. Contrary to widespread belief, leprosy is not hereditary, it is not untreatable, it is not highly infectious and it is not divine punishment.

Yet because of the myths and misconceptions that surround leprosy, discrimination is never far away. This discrimination can limit opportunities for education, employment and marriage. It can restrict access to public services. It can marginalize entire families.

In December 2010, recognizing the disease's devastating social, economic and psychological impact, the U.N. General Assembly adopted a resolution on elimination of discrimination against persons affected by leprosy and their family members.

The resolution is accompanied by principles and guidelines and reaffirms that people affected by leprosy and their family members should be treated as individuals with dignity and are entitled to all human rights and fundamental freedoms under customary international law, relevant conventions and national constitutions and laws.

As national human rights institutions, we applaud the U.N. resolution and condemn all leprosy-related human rights violations. We uphold the right of people affected by leprosy to live in dignity, free from discrimination. We pledge our support to help to bring down the remaining barriers of stigma and prejudice that stand in their way.

#### Dr. Sima Samar

Chairperson Independent Human Rights Commission Afghanistan

#### Mr. Emmanuel Ntakarutimana

President Independent National **Human Rights Commission** Burundi

# H.E. Ambassador Teruneh

Chief Commissioner Ethiopian Human Rights Commission Ethiopia

#### Justice K. G. Balakrishnan Chairperson

National Human Rights Commission of India

# Mr. Sami Kurteshi

Ombudsman Ombudsperson Institution of Kosovo Kosovo

#### Ms. Kadidia Sangare Coulibaly

President Commission Nationale des Droits de l'Homme du Mali

## Prof. Bem Reuben Angwe

Executive Secretary National Human Rights Commission Nigeria

## Ms. Vlasta Nussdorfer

Ombudsman Human Rights Ombudsman Republic of Slovenia

# Justice Priyantha R. P.

Chairman Human Rights Commission Sri Lanka

# Mr. Igli Totozani

People's Advocate Albania

# Mr. David Langtry

**Acting Chief Commissioner** Canadian Human Rights Commission Canada

#### Mr. Michel Forst

Secretary General Commission Nationale Consultative des Droits de I'Homme (CNCDH) France

#### Ms. Siti Noor Laila

Chairperson National Commission on **Human Rights** Indonesia

## Mr. Juris Jansons

Ombudsman Ombudsman Office of the Republic of Latvia Latvia

#### Dr. Raúl Plascencia Villanueva

President National Human Rights Commission of Mexico Mexico

## Prof. Michael O'Flaherty

Chief Commissioner Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission Northern Ireland

## Mr. Anastasiu Crisu

People's Advocate People's Advocate Institution Romania

## Ms. Amal Hassan Eltinay

Chairperson National Commission for **Human Rights** Sudan

#### Dr. Mizanur Rahman

Chairman National Human Rights Commission Bangladesh

#### Ms. Lorena Fries Monleón

Director National Institute of Human Rights Chile

# Mr. Ucha Nanuashvili

Public Defender (Ombudsman) Office of Public Defender of Georgia Georgia

## Dr. Mousa Sulieman

Burayzat

Commissioner General The National Centre for Human Rights Jordan

# **Dr. Augustinas Normantas**

Head of the Office The Seimas Ombudsmen Lithuania

# Mr. U Win Mra

Chairman Myanmar National Human **Rights Commission** Myanmai

## Ms. Loretta Ann Rosales

Chairperson Commission on Human Philippines

# Ms. Madeleine Nirere

National Commission for Human Rights Rwanda

## Mr. Amiri Ramadhani

Manento

Chairman Commission for Human Rights and Good Governance

Secretaria de Direitos Humanos da Presidência da República Brazil

Ms. Maria do Rosário Nunes

Ministra-Chefe

#### Mr. Boutros Boutros Ghali

President National Council for Human Rights Egypt

#### Dr. York Chow Yat-ngok

Chairperson **Equal Opportunities** Commission Hong Kong SAR, China

#### Ms. Anne Munyiva Kyalo Ngugi

Commissioner (Acting Chair) National Commission on **Human Rights** Kenya

# Mr. Hasmy Agam

Chairman **Human Rights Commisssion** of Malaysia (SUHAKAM) Malaysia

# Mr. Kedar Nath Upadhyay

Chairperson National Human Rights Commission Nepal

## **Prof. Irena Lipowicz**

Human Rights Defender Poland

# Mr. Marian Mesaros

**Executive Director** National Centre for Human Rights Slovak Republic

Chairperson National Human Rights Commission of Thailand

Ms. Amara Pongsapich

Thailand

#### Ms. Lynette Anthea Stephenson

Ombudsman Office of the Ombudsman of Trinidad and Tobago Trinidad and Tobago

#### Mr. Med S. K. Kaggwa Chairperson

Uganda Human Rights Commission Uganda

# Ms. Valeriya Lutkovska

Parliament Commissioner for Human Rights Ukraine